Book Review

Review – The Mountains Sing by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

Synopsis: AN INTIMATE, STIRRING PORTRAIT OF A COUNTRY AT WAR AND A FAMILY'S BATTLE TO SURVIVE  Set against the backdrop of the Việt Nam War, The Mountains Sing is the enveloping, multi-generational tale of the Trần family, perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko or Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. Hà Nội, 1972. Hương and her grandmother, Trần Diệu Lan, cling to… Continue reading Review – The Mountains Sing by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

Book Review

Review – Girl in The Walls by A.J. Gnuse

Synopsis: She doesn’t exist. She can’t exist. ‘A uniquely gothic tale about grief, belonging and hiding in plain sight’ Jess Kidd, author of Things in Jars ’Those who live in the walls must adjust, must twist themselves around in their home, stretching themselves until they’re as thin as air. Not everyone can do what they can. … Continue reading Review – Girl in The Walls by A.J. Gnuse

Book Review, Favourite

Review – The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

Synopsis: The Vignes twin sisters will always be identical. But after growing up together in a small, southern black community and running away at age sixteen, it's not just the shape of their daily lives that is different as adults, it's everything: their families, their communities, their racial identities. Ten years later, one sister lives… Continue reading Review – The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

Book Review

Review – Valentin by Elizabeth Wetmore

Synopsis: Mercy is hard in a place like this. I wished him dead before I ever saw his face…   Mary Rose Whitehead isn’t looking for trouble – but when it shows up at her front door, she finds she can’t turn away.   Corinne Shepherd, newly widowed, wants nothing more than to mind her… Continue reading Review – Valentin by Elizabeth Wetmore

Book Review, Favourite

Review – Hamnet by Maggie O’Farrell

Synopsis: TWO EXTRAORDINARY PEOPLE. A LOVE THAT DRAWS THEM TOGETHER. A LOSS THAT THREATENS TO TEAR THEM APART. On a summer's day in 1596, a young girl in Stratford-upon-Avon takes to her bed with a fever. Her twin brother, Hamnet, searches everywhere for help. Why is nobody at home?  Their mother, Agnes, is over a… Continue reading Review – Hamnet by Maggie O’Farrell

Book Review

Review – On Earth We Are Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong

Synopsis: On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous is a letter from a son to a mother who cannot read. Written when the speaker, Little Dog, is in his late twenties, the letter unearths a family's history that began before he was born – a history whose epicentre is rooted in Vietnam – and serves as a doorway… Continue reading Review – On Earth We Are Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong

Book Review

Review – Keeper by Jessica Moor

Synopsis: He's been looking in the windows again. Messing with cameras. Leaving notes.  Supposed to be a refuge. But death got inside. When Katie Straw's body is pulled from the waters of the local suicide spot, the police decide it's an open-and-shut case. A standard-issue female suicide.  But the residents of Widringham women's refuge where… Continue reading Review – Keeper by Jessica Moor

Book Review

Review – Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones

Synopsis: A breathtaking tale of family secrets, from the international bestselling author of An American Marriage 'My father, James Witherspoon, is a bigamist.' This is the breathtaking story of a man's deception, a family's complicity, and the two teenage girls caught in the middle. James Witherspoon has two families, one public, the other a closely guarded… Continue reading Review – Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones

Book Review

Review – The Book of Echoes by Rosanna Amaka

Synopsis: A sweeping, uplifting story of how a boy from Brixton and a girl from Lagos escape their dark past to find themselves a bright future. 1981: England looks forward to a new decade. But on the streets of Brixton, it’s hard to hold onto your dreams, especially if you are a young black man.… Continue reading Review – The Book of Echoes by Rosanna Amaka

Book Review, Favourite

Review – A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

| A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara | I will keep it short. A Little Life has become my top 3 favourite books of all time. This is a masterpiece of writing and a story like no other. It has completely destroyed me and broken my heart. But I am so glad I have finally… Continue reading Review – A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara