Book Review

Review – Inferno by Catherine Cho

Synopsis: When Catherine left London for the US with her husband James, to introduce her family to their newborn son, she could not have envisaged how that trip would end. Catherine would find herself in an involuntary psych ward in New Jersey, separated from her husband and child, unable to understand who she was, and… Continue reading Review – Inferno by Catherine Cho

Book Review

Review – Tongues of Fire by Sean Hewitt

Synopsis: In this collection, Seán Hewitt gives us poems of a rare musicality and grace. By turns searing and meditative, these are lyrics concerned with the matter of the world, its physicality, but also attuned to the proximity of each moment, each thing, to the spiritual.  Here, there is sex, grief, and loss, but also… Continue reading Review – Tongues of Fire by Sean Hewitt

Book Review

Review – Surge by

Synopsis: Jay Bernard's extraordinary debut is a fearless exploration of the New Cross Fire of 1981, a house fire at a birthday party in which thirteen young black people were killed.  Dubbed the 'New Cross Massacre', the fire was initially believed to be a racist attack, and the indifference with which the tragedy was met… Continue reading Review – Surge by

Book Review

Movie Review – Rebecca

Rebecca... “Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again.” Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier is one of my very favourite books of all time. It is often the first book I recommend to people when they want to start reading classics. It’s such a great introduction to that genre. It is dark, it is… Continue reading Movie Review – Rebecca

Book Review

Review – The Lamplighter by Jackie Kay

Synopsis: In The Lamplighter award-winning poet and Scottish Makar Jackie Kay takes us on a journey into the dark heart of Britain’s legacy in the slave trade. First produced as a play, on the page it reads as a profound and tragic multi-layered poem. We watch as four women and one man tell the story of… Continue reading Review – The Lamplighter by Jackie Kay

Book Review

Review – A More Perfect Union by Tammye Huf

Synopsis: Based on real events brilliantly reimagined, this is an epic story of love and courage, desperation and determination, and three people who are inescapably entwined in each other's lives. Henry O'Toole sails to America to escape poverty and famine in Ireland, only to find anti-Irish prejudice awaiting him. Determined never to starve again, he… Continue reading Review – A More Perfect Union by Tammye Huf

Book Review

Review – The Mountains Sing by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

Synopsis: AN INTIMATE, STIRRING PORTRAIT OF A COUNTRY AT WAR AND A FAMILY'S BATTLE TO SURVIVE  Set against the backdrop of the Việt Nam War, The Mountains Sing is the enveloping, multi-generational tale of the Trần family, perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko or Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. Hà Nội, 1972. Hương and her grandmother, Trần Diệu Lan, cling to… Continue reading Review – The Mountains Sing by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

Book Review

Review – To Cook A Bear by Mikael Niemi

Synopsis: Jussi, the young Sami boy Læstadius has rescued from destitution and abuse, becomes the preacher's faithful disciple on long botanical treks to explore the flora and fauna. Læstadius also teaches him to read and write - and to love and fear God.  When a milkmaid goes missing deep in the forest, the locals suspect… Continue reading Review – To Cook A Bear by Mikael Niemi

Book Review

Review – After The Silence by Louise O’Neill

Synopsis: On the day of Henry and Keelin Kinsella's wild party at their big house a violent storm engulfed the island of Inisrun, cutting it off from the mainland. When morning broke Nessa Crowley's lifeless body lay in the garden, her last breath silenced by the music and the thunder. The killer couldn't have escaped… Continue reading Review – After The Silence by Louise O’Neill

Book Review

Review – Girl in The Walls by A.J. Gnuse

Synopsis: She doesn’t exist. She can’t exist. ‘A uniquely gothic tale about grief, belonging and hiding in plain sight’ Jess Kidd, author of Things in Jars ’Those who live in the walls must adjust, must twist themselves around in their home, stretching themselves until they’re as thin as air. Not everyone can do what they can. … Continue reading Review – Girl in The Walls by A.J. Gnuse