Book Review

Review – Playing Nice by JP Delaney

Synopsis:

Pete Riley answers the door one morning to a parent’s worst nightmare. On his doorstep is Miles Lambert, who breaks the devastating news that Pete’s two-year-old, Theo, isn’t Pete’s real son – their babies got mixed up at birth. 

The two families – Pete, his partner Maddie, and Miles and his wife Lucy – agree that, rather than swap the boys back, they’ll try to find a more flexible way to share their children’s lives. But a plan to sue the hospital triggers an investigation that unearths disturbing questions about just what happened the day the babies were switched.

And when Theo is thrown out of nursery for hitting other children, Maddie and Pete have to ask themselves: how far do they want this arrangement to go? What secrets lie hidden behind the Lamberts’ smart front door? How much can they trust the real parents of their child – or even each other?

An addictive psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Silent Patient and Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door.

My Review:

Oh my goodness! This book has got my brain working the entire time! I finished Playing Nice by JP Delaney last night and it was just fantastic!

I love all his books. I know I am going to have a “great time” reading it, meaning guessing who is the bad guy from start to finish. And I did! What if one day a man turns up at your door and tell you that the hospital has made a devastating mistake of switching the two babies at birth and your two year old son is theirs and they have got yours. What would happen next? What else could possibly go wrong?

I think what I find it so genius is that even though it is obvious that one person is clearly the bad guy here, this book still makes you constantly switching side and questioning yourself, are you sure he is the bad guy here? What about the others? I love a psychological thriller that keeps me guessing! I looked for clues none stop. Is it him? Her? What about them? Wait? How about this? Honestly it is intensive guessing 😂and I love it!

Definitely a page turner. It is a chunky book but I flew through it. Even though I think the ending is a bit unrealistic but oh my this is such a satisfying read! Totally worth every page. If you love a psychological thriller, definitely recommend this!

Thank you so much Quercus for this copy!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s