Book Review

Author piece – Jess Castle and The Eyeballs of Death by M.B. Vincent

Today is my stop on the blog tour for Jess Castle and The Eyeballs of Death by M.B. Vincent. I cannot wait to share more info of the book and the author piece with you below!

Synopsis:

Jess Castle is running away. Again. This time she’s running back home, like she swore she never would. 
 
Castle Kidbury, like all small towns, hums with gossip but now it’s plagued with murder of the most gruesome kind. Jess instinctively believes that the hippyish cult camped out on the edge of town are not responsible for the spate of crucifixions that blights the pretty landscape. Her father, a respected judge, despairs of Jess as she infiltrates the cult and manages, not for the first time, to get herself arrested. 
 
Rupert Lawson, a schooldays crush who’s now a barrister, bails her out. Jess ropes in a reluctant Rupert as she gatecrashes the murder investigation of DS Eden. A by-the-book copper, Eden has to admit that intuitive, eccentric Jess has the nose of a detective. 
 
As the gory murders pile up, there’s nothing to connect the victims. And yet, the clues are there if you look hard enough. 

Perfect for fans of MC Beaton, this is cosy crime at its most entertaining and enthralling.

About The Author

M.B. Vincent is a married couple. She writes romantic fiction; he writes songs and TV theme tunes. They’ve even written musicals together. They work at opposite ends of the house, andthey meet in the middle to write about Jess Castle and Castle Kidbury, the West Country’s goriest market town. When they’re not making up books, tunes, and mysteries, they cram head out in an open- top car and explore. They particularly like West Country market towns

 

Author Piece –

Jess Castle and The Eyeballs of Death is such a quirky, peculiar and enthralling murder mystery you will ever read! I read it a few weeks ago and it is just one of those books that will absolutely make you laugh and fall madly in love with the characters!

Matthew Strachan from the husband and wife duo M.B. Vincent talks about the journey from composing music to writing books.

I was always creative as a kid – usually holed up somewhere making something new. It didn’t really matter whether the medium was music, words or Lego; if I was making something up, I was happy! I wrote and recorded radio plays (usually I only got as far as the first scene), musicals (terrible ones), and songs.

Eventually the music won out and I carried on with song writing until I went to music college and learned how to compose “properly”. I came from a musical family and when I returned from college, I began writing music for TV, adverts, and radio with my dad, Keith. I’ve even composed a few well-known tunes over the years. After that I branched into writing songs again in Nashville, and on to writing musicals with my wife Bernie.

Writing lyrics requires a strong sense of narrative and word play, of course, but the main difference between a song and a novel is the length. Take the average world count for a song (200) versus a novel (100,000) and you get the picture. A single misplaced word in a lyric can amount to an absolute clanger; in a novel it’s easier to get away with it. Not that I’m making excuses – I can often waste hours searching for exactly the right word for a chapter.

The great joy of writing a novel – especially a series – is in being able to create a whole world of places, characters, and events with its own rules. That’s why the Jess Castle stories are such fun. I wish I could visit Castle Kidbury for real and walk around it.

I still write music, of course, and may get around to creating other things at some point. Come to think of it, I’m sure my mum has my old Lego stashed away somewhere…

Thank you so much Matthew for this awesome author piece! Thanks so much Sian and ED PR for gifting me this copy to review. Jess Castle and the Eyeballs of Death is published in paperback and eBook by Simon & Schuster, and is out now.

Blog Tour –

Make sure you check out other posts by these lovely bookbloggers!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s