Book Review

Review – The Lamplighter by Jackie Kay

Synopsis: In The Lamplighter award-winning poet and Scottish Makar Jackie Kay takes us on a journey into the dark heart of Britain’s legacy in the slave trade. First produced as a play, on the page it reads as a profound and tragic multi-layered poem. We watch as four women and one man tell the story of… Continue reading Review – The Lamplighter by Jackie Kay

Book Review

Review – A More Perfect Union by Tammye Huf

Synopsis: Based on real events brilliantly reimagined, this is an epic story of love and courage, desperation and determination, and three people who are inescapably entwined in each other's lives. Henry O'Toole sails to America to escape poverty and famine in Ireland, only to find anti-Irish prejudice awaiting him. Determined never to starve again, he… Continue reading Review – A More Perfect Union by Tammye Huf

Book Review

Review – The Mountains Sing by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

Synopsis: AN INTIMATE, STIRRING PORTRAIT OF A COUNTRY AT WAR AND A FAMILY'S BATTLE TO SURVIVE  Set against the backdrop of the Việt Nam War, The Mountains Sing is the enveloping, multi-generational tale of the Trần family, perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko or Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. Hà Nội, 1972. Hương and her grandmother, Trần Diệu Lan, cling to… Continue reading Review – The Mountains Sing by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

Book Review

Review – To Cook A Bear by Mikael Niemi

Synopsis: Jussi, the young Sami boy Læstadius has rescued from destitution and abuse, becomes the preacher's faithful disciple on long botanical treks to explore the flora and fauna. Læstadius also teaches him to read and write - and to love and fear God.  When a milkmaid goes missing deep in the forest, the locals suspect… Continue reading Review – To Cook A Bear by Mikael Niemi

Book Review

Review – After The Silence by Louise O’Neill

Synopsis: On the day of Henry and Keelin Kinsella's wild party at their big house a violent storm engulfed the island of Inisrun, cutting it off from the mainland. When morning broke Nessa Crowley's lifeless body lay in the garden, her last breath silenced by the music and the thunder. The killer couldn't have escaped… Continue reading Review – After The Silence by Louise O’Neill

Book Review

Review – Girl in The Walls by A.J. Gnuse

Synopsis: She doesn’t exist. She can’t exist. ‘A uniquely gothic tale about grief, belonging and hiding in plain sight’ Jess Kidd, author of Things in Jars ’Those who live in the walls must adjust, must twist themselves around in their home, stretching themselves until they’re as thin as air. Not everyone can do what they can. … Continue reading Review – Girl in The Walls by A.J. Gnuse

Book Review

New Book Spotlight – Fashion Conscious by Sarah Klymkiw and Kim Hankinson

Today I am showing casing a new book which is coming out on 20 August. Fashion Conscious is a book I wish I could have read when I was younger. It would have been so eye-opening and helpful. With such informative messages and colorful illustrations, it is such a positive and effective way for young… Continue reading New Book Spotlight – Fashion Conscious by Sarah Klymkiw and Kim Hankinson

Book Review, Favourite

Review – The Revolt by Clara Dupont-Monod

Synopsis: It is with a soft voice, full of menace, that our mother commands us to overthrow our father . . . Richard Lionheart tells the story of his mother, Eleanor of Aquitaine. In 1173, she and three of her sons instigate a rebellion to overthrow the English king, her husband Henry Plantagenet. What prompts… Continue reading Review – The Revolt by Clara Dupont-Monod

Book Review

Review – Playing Nice by JP Delaney

Synopsis: Pete Riley answers the door one morning to a parent's worst nightmare. On his doorstep is Miles Lambert, who breaks the devastating news that Pete's two-year-old, Theo, isn't Pete's real son - their babies got mixed up at birth.  The two families - Pete, his partner Maddie, and Miles and his wife Lucy -… Continue reading Review – Playing Nice by JP Delaney

Book Review

Review – The Beauty of Your Face by Sahar Mustafah

Synopsis: Afaf Rahman, the daughter of Palestinian immigrants, is the principal of Nurrideen School for Girls, a Muslim school in the Chicago suburbs. One morning, a shooter―radicalized by the online alt-right―attacks the school. As Afaf listens to his terrifying progress, we are swept back through her memories: the bigotry she faced as a child, her… Continue reading Review – The Beauty of Your Face by Sahar Mustafah